Museums

Clear Creek County is one of the best kept secrets in Colorado. Whether you are planning a one day visit or a complete vacation, Clear Creek County will not disappoint.

Clear Creek County: A Rich History

While on your Colorado vacation of camping, biking and hiking Colorado trails, white water rafting and skiing don’t forget to check out the historical sites. Self-guided tour booklets are available at both the Visitor Center in Idaho Springs, and the Visitor Center in Georgetown.

Clear Creek County HistoryClear Creek County was created as a direct result of George Andrew Jackson’s discovery of gold on January 7, 1859. Although he attempted to keep the discovery a secret, it only lasted until April of 1859, when the current location of Idaho Springs was inundated with its first group of miners. But the first settlement was actually two miles above Idahoe and was named Spanish Bar, due to the evidence of earlier mining by the Spanish Conquistadors.

Clear Creek is a diverse county, with 86% of the land national forest. It is one of the seventeen original counties and one of the three left in the state with its original boundaries. Mining districts were founded creating their laws and civil government in order to protect their claims from claim jumpers, thieves, murderers, and all other unlawful acts.

On November 1, 1861 the territorial Legislature of Colorado subdivided the territory into seventeen counties and Idahoe was named the county seat in the legislative act of establishment. Colorado governor Gilpin appointed the first three county commissioners to organize the civil government of Clear Creek County. In NovemHorse Team Silver Plumeber of 1861, the commissioners meet and divided the county into seven voting precincts. The first county election resulted in elections for a sheriff, clerk and recorder, treasurer, assessor, county attorney, superintendent of schools, and a probate judge.

As more and more miners moved into the county, the prospecting moved west following Clear Creek which runs most of the length of the county. Founded Georgetown while John Dumont settled in the Mill City area (now Dumont). When Mill City was built in 1860 all the homes were, naturally, log cabins. In 1860, the settlement was renamed Dumont, in honor of the founder, John M. Dumont. Shortly after, Dumont was awarded their first post office.

Further west the Griffith brothers, David and George, were instrumental in settling Georgetown where they discovered the rich silver veins. In 1867, the Colorado Legislature called a special election and the county seat was moved from Idaho Springs to Georgetown. Georgetown was incorporated in 1885 and established their post office in 1866.

Alice Schoolhouse
271 Silver Creek Road, Alice
(303) 519-0444

Children first walked through the doors of Alice Schoolhouse in 1896 when residents of the small mining community were looking to make their living situation feel permanent. In 1998 Jacquie Zegan moved to the Alice neighborhood and reestablished the Alice Historical Society later reopening the schoolhouse as a community center and museum of Alice’s past. Don't miss the annual Labor Day Pancake Breakfast!

georgetown-energy-museum-150x150

Georgetown Energy Museum
600 Griffith Street, Georgetown
(303) 569-3557

Located in a fully functional hydroelectric plant which has been in operation since 1900, the Georgetown Energy Museum is owned and operated by Xcel Energy and has a display of exhibits and photographs as well as early household appliances related to the early use of electricity in the area. Open Memorial Day through Labor Day. Group tours by appointment. Donations Requested.

The-Hamill-House-150x150

Hamill House
305 Argentine Street, Georgetown
(303) 569-2840

A wealthy mining entrepreneur’s home – Construction Date: 1867-1879 – The Hamill House Museum is the centerpiece of Historic Georgetown's comprehensive residential interpretation of the Georgetown-Silver Plume National Historic Landmark District (designated 1966) within the context of the Rocky Mountain Mining West. The Hamill House Museum interprets 19th century residential living in Georgetown, Colorado: including architecture, furnishing, Victorian plants, landscaping, social and cultural lifestyles. Fee.

Idaho Springs Heritage Museum & Visitor Center
2060 Miner Street, Idaho Springs
(303) 567-4382

A fun and informative museum full of unique exhibits of our mining history, early life, and the important role it played in establishing Idaho Springs as well as the State of Colorado. Donations Requested.

Silver-Plume-2web

George Rowe Museum
315 Main Street, Silver Plume
(303) 569-2562

After its closing as the Silver Plume School in 1959, town mayor George Rowe purchased the five-room school and converted it into a museum in 1960. Thirty-five years later, People for Silver Plume, Inc., matched $50,000 from the State of Colorado Historical Fund to restore the exterior masonry and portals, install an alarm system, update the electrical system, install a water tap, clean and repair chimneys, and repair interior water damage. Open daily Memorial Day through Labor Day and weekends in September. Fee.

fire-fighter-museum

Georgetown’s Firefighting Museum at Hose House No. 2
507 5th Street, Georgetown
(303) 569-2840

Exhibits include hose carts, a hand pulled hook and ladder wagon, memorabilia, and the tower with hose drying racks and a fire alarm system utilizing a telegraph device to activate the bell. Open Memorial Day through Labor Day. Fee.

hotel-de-paris

Hotel de Paris Museum
409 6th Street, Georgetown
(303) 569-2311

Louis Dupuy’s legendary Hotel de Paris dates back to the silver mining boom. "Famous the wide world over,” the hotel served as a first-class French restaurant, a showroom for traveling salesmen, and a luxurious accommodation during the opulent Gilded Age. Today, Hotel de Paris Museum is a National Register of Historic Places listing that offers docent-led tours through 7,000 square feet of period rooms furnished with 5,000 objects original to the site. Hotel de Paris Museum, a site of the National Trust for Historic Preservation, is owned and operated by The National Society of The Colonial Dames of America in the State of Colorado. Open Memorial Day through Labor Day and weekends through mid-December. Fee.

Underhill-Museum-150x150

Underhill Museum
1416 Miner Street, Idaho Springs
(303) 567-4709

A glimpse at Life in the Early 1900s. Dr. James Underhill came to Idaho Springs in 1897 and was a prominent Colorado surveyor and mining engineer. Underhill was a Harvard graduate who wrote a number of books on surveying. He surveyed many of the city plots and mines in and around Idaho Springs. He was also a professor at the Colorado School of Mines, and it is worth noting that he was the first person in Colorado to earn his doctorate in geology. Enjoy a fascinating collection of mining artifacts, authentic living accommodations, and beautiful Victorian garden and courtyard. Donations Requested.